I made Chicken Dijon for dinner tonight, after realizing that included in the name "toaster oven" is the word oven. I can bake! So, I made this dish and it was quite good. I used the convection setting on my toaster oven, and my food was finished in half the time. 


I got this recipe from the Leaving Home Cookbook and Survival Guide by Seth Braun. There are so many good tips and recipes in here, I can't wait to try more!


If anyone decides to make this, leave a comment and let me know how it turned out! Especially if you have any alternate suggestions, or any good side dishes to serve with it.

Enjoy!


Chicken Dijon

6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1/4 cup dijon-style mustard
2 cups finely crumbled seasoned breadcrumbs

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Place chicken breasts in sprayed baking dish and bake for 20 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and generously spread mustard on both sides of chicken. Coat with breadcrumbs and return to baking dish and bake for 1 hour or until juices run clear. Serves 6 to 8.
TIP:  The mustard gives chicken a tangy flavor and makes it moist.
        Don't overcook.



Mom
1/6/2010 11:38:40 am

Way to go, Katie!!!

Reply
Eliz. K
1/7/2010 06:03:14 am

Hey Katie!
We do have a regular oven, but I use the toaster oven for all sorts of things-- If you make smaller portions and put them in little pyrex containters or even in aluminum foil it cooks them well! A couple of the things I've tried are apple cobbler and potato wedges... I can't think of other off the top of my head right now... I wonder how it would do with a little loaf of bread... :-)

Happy Thursday!

Reply



Leave a Reply.